The Old City

Founded around 4000 BC, the Old City is divided into four quarters: Muslim, Christian, Jewish and Armenian.
The present walls surrounding the Old City were built by the Ottoman Sultan Suleiman Al-Qanouni in 1542.
The walls stretch over approximately 4 km and encompass an area of barely 1 km2.


Population and Areas in the Old City

Quarter Population Area in dunums Persons per dunum

1. Incl. the 135 dunums of Al-Haram Al-  Sharief compound. If  this area is not counted, the population density in
the Muslim Quarter rises to over 79!

2. Excl. some 600 settlers occupying houses in the Muslim and Christian Quarters.

Muslim 26,544 461 57.6
Christian 5,442 192 28.3
Armenian 2,424 126 19.2
Jewish 2,555 122 20.9
Total 36,965 900 41.1


Since 1982, the Old City of Jerusalem is listed on the World Heritage List as well as on the List of World Heritage in Danger.


The Old City houses 25 mosques, 65 churches and 20 synagogues. The wall surrounding Jerusalem’s Old City has 11 gates,
seven of which are presently open: Damascus Gate, Herod’s Gate, Jaffa Gate, Zion Gate, Al- Magharbeh Gate, Lions’ Gate
and New Gate, while the Golden Gate remains closed (was sealed during the Crusader Period).